Good and Beautiful God

FullSizeRender (2)Recently, I’ve started a bible study with my boyfriend (Marshall). The book is called The Good and Beautiful God by James Bryan Smith. The book has been a wonderful reminder about living a ‘good’ and godly life.

This week the chapter was called ‘God is Good.’ So, I used to attend Navigators (on campus ministry) very regularly. Before we left the gathering, the speaker would say and respond to the same phrase with the audience:

Speaker: God is good
Us: All the time?
Speaker: All the Time.
Us. God is GOOD!

It’s pretty empowering and awesome. I love that people can shout their love for God to the rooftops! Why did I tell you this? Because the author describes in this chapter how he was invited to speak at a church that used “call and response” during services. You know what the call and response was that he used? You guessed it- God is Good, All the Time.

At the end of each chapter you are given a Soul Training Activity. This week just seemed so perfect in the eyes of Love Lemon. Why, you ask? Because it states that 2 tasks you must do to fully open your mind and see the beauty in the common things of life (I was on to something- who knew!).FullSizeRender (3)

1. Be present in the present moment and
2. Have peace and see the beauty that surrounds us. YES!
I plan on training my soul by spending 5-10 minutes each day walking, sitting and drinking tea, or meditating. If your brain wanders like mine, you’ll understand why I keep my notebook with me. It’s those unending tasks of every day life that break up these beautiful moments of solitude. Write them down and clear your mind.

No, I don’t believe in coincidences. So would you believe that I had just been talking with a mentor about attending Navigators for my last semester of college and getting connected through a bible study? I think not; God is good. All the time.

Leave a Reply

