Green Thumb

It’s January and 50 degrees. I’ll take it. Everyone can benefit from a warm sunny day in the midst of a cold month. According to an article by Sunlight Institute, exposing yourself to as little as 15 minutes of sunshine daily (when possible) can have tremendous health benefits. I’m not talking about all out skin cancer exposure, but a healthy dose of vitamin D. What’s more? It’s free!

FullSizeRender_1Spending my ‘sunshine time’ outside was a true joy. I decided to repot some of my house plants. Simple things such as house plants can make the indoors more enjoyable by bringing the outdoors in and keeping the air fresh (especially during winter).

Last spring, at the farmer’s market, my roommate and I went out and each bought an aloe vera plant and a succulent for our room. Being Harry Potter fans (as all people should be) we named the aloe vera plants Fred and George (because they were twins) and the succulent Fawkes (like Dumbledore’s Phoenix). One of the aloe plants had a limb that had broken off, so he was George (since George lost an ear in HP). Want to know how fate works? I was shifting Fred in his pot when suddenly he just came apart in my hands. Looking back on this I realized I caused his death by naming him Fred…Fred was the twin that died in the movie and his plant doppelgänger died in real life. I know, it’s a true, but sad story.

In any case, it was a wonderful day to be outside. I’m happy with my newly potted plants and satisfied with my dose of Vitamin D. I hope you were able to enjoy your day and if not, you can try again tomorrow!

IMG_5880FullSizeRender_2


Screen Shot 2015-01-16 at 8.26.55 PM

Leave a Reply

