My Type of Adventure

“You can never get a cup of tea large enough or a book long enough to suit me.”
C.S. Lewis

Couldn’t have said it better myself, Mr. Lewis. Thinking back to my childhood, books have always been one of my favorite things. Things change as you grow up, but my love of books never has and never will. There is something about children’s literature (kid-lit) like Dr. Seuss, Harry Potter, Magic Tree House and Chronicles of Narnia, that make you feel young and happy every time you pick them up. (Currently wearing Harry Potter lightning bolt earrings in honor of this post. No joke.)

This past year I had the opportunity in one of my classes to learn how to design a book. (Scroll down to see design preview). I was pumped. You know how they always say, “Don’t judge a book by its cover?” Well, this class changed that thought process. It gave me the chance to design a book about typography while integrating photography I took on a trip to Chicago. (Yes, the concept of typography is kinda steep for a young kid, but just roll with it. My teacher did, so you can too).

My love of children’s books got the best of me and I decided to design this typographic photography book in the style of a kids book. It was written with the tone of a younger audience. Look through My Type of Adventure and follow the characters on their hunt for typography in Chicago!

See the full post with online readable book here:

behance scroll-01

Click here to read the full story. Go on, you know you want to!

OR if you’re feeling ambitious, click here to see the project on my portfolio site.

Leave a Reply

