Open the World

Friends,

It’s time I told you a little bit about what I’ve been working on. I’ve been getting busier and more invested with this awesome cause and I think it is time to share the wealth. I hope you will be inspired too.

For the past couple years I’ve been involved in an organization called Open World Cause. It was created as a senior legacy project by two of my close friends, Ben and Connor. I first met Ben at an orientation 3 years ago. Small world. I didn’t know then that I’d be able to help fundraise and raise awareness for a school in rural Nepal.

I didn’t know then that I’d be traveling there just three years later. That’s right, I’m going to Nepal!

Back to the story

Ben and Connor got connected with a teacher named Govinda Panthy at a school called the Shantideep Adarsh Vidhyasadan (SAV School). After they discovered Govinda had been seeking out assistance and educational resources, they got connected. As the first phase of Open World came to a close, they were able to provide two laptops, an internet subscription and library furnishings for Govinda and his students.

As Ben and Connor brought Open World cause to the University of Kansas, they made new connections and the project continued to grow. (Me being one of those connections). In the next two years Open World would help Govinda battle with property rights and eventually pair with two Belgium organizations to build a brand new school in Nepal.

I was brought into the organization as a full time member to help design and market our brand as Open World. I’ve had some fun playing with bright colors that were inspired by the idea of school and kids. Some of the things I’ve designed for Open World can be seen in my portfolio (click here). As my design skills have improved, so have my contributions to Open World. I’ve recently worked with Hand lettering for our fundraising cause. Here’s a peek:
13372_899033216783485_7424058428867801513_n11006439_899033153450158_5647144297417085754_n

If you are interested at all please take the time to look at our website and facebook page. Become part of our cause! And be on the lookout for more updates about Nepal and our travel efforts!

Screen Shot 2015-01-16 at 8.26.55 PM


http://www.gofundme.com/ow-to-nepal

https://www.facebook.com/openworldcause?fref=ts

http://openworldcause.com/

One thought on “Open the World

Leave a Reply

