Home Sweet Home.

IMG_8029

After being abroad for 30 days I’m excited to be back in the states, but sad to leave my new friends and experiences behind. I mean really, how do you sum up a trip (or any travel experiences) in just one message?

The answer: you don’t. The best way to remember is to share stories and to practice what you’ve learned.

Here are some of my favorite takeaways:

Milk Tea. I stocked up on prime Nepali tea before leaving and can’t wait to host a tea party for friends and family!

  • Be a bold, bright colorful woman. Nepali women are some of the hardest workers I’ve met. They take care of family businesses and the household all the while looking beautiful.
  • There is beauty all around you. Sometimes the thing that makes a photograph amazing is the story or things you learn while taking it. Always ask questions and learn!
  • Be open to new experiences! Just because you do things one way doesn’t mean it’s the right or only way. Oh, and prepare to get some funny looks while adjusting to a new culture (you have to learn some how!)

I look forward to integrating some new customs (like tea time) and Nepali lifestyle into my daily life. Coming back, it is important that I don’t leave those things behind or forget! I’m already looking at things from a new perspective, enjoying the little things, and taking each task one step at a time. No need to rush through life.

Open World Cause, the group I travelled with, has many great global education efforts coming up. I look forward to sharing and hope to gain your support!

Namaste

openworldcause.org

IMG_9073 IMG_6171 IMG_8002

IMG_3567

Leave a Reply

